NAS server · Share files once

Upload files on your Synology with a link and no access rights

Have you ever wanted to ask your family, friends, customers or suppliers to upload files to your Synology with a simple link and without having to give them per

Well, now you can. I discovered this by chance…

Here is how:

Navigate to the folder you want them to upload the files or create one:

create a folder synology

Right-click on the folder and click on “Create a file request”:

create a file request synology

 

Now:

  1. Set the validity period
  2. Copy the link to email it to them
  3. Send them a custom message
  4. Enable password protection

create a file request_dialogue synology

This is what they will see when they navigate to the link you sent them:

upload dialogue for clients

And you are done!!

Do you want to delete the link?

Follow this simple instructions.

Do you want to share your files instead? Here is a tutorial.

 

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Upload files on your Synology with a link and no access rights

  1. Hi, I just found your blog after having my NAS for a short while now. 🙂 I am an intermediate PC user however I might have loads of questions.
    This article is useful to allow people to upload to a specified folder, however, my question is, will these people (or any of them) have access to this folder too? (after uploading to it)
    Or do I have to control that with general folder access rules?
    Example: I make a ‘public’ folder. I share it with someone to upload whatever to it. If I don’t want this to be accessable to everyone, do I just setup guest or user rights?

    Like

  2. Thanks so much for posting this! I was trying to figure out how best to get a bunch of people to upload files to a specific location (esp. if not all are Google users) and came across this! Glad to know my synology has alternative uses.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s