Reset password · Synology setup · Tips & Tricks

Reset your Admin password in your Synology

Did you forget your Admin password for your Synology? No problem, you can reset your unit to set a new one.

When you reset the admin password, the following will also be reset on models with DSM 2.2-0941 and onward:

  • Admin password will be blank.
  • Guest account will be disabled.
  • DHCP will be enabled on IP, DNS, Gateway, and other network interfaces.
  • JumboFrames will be disabled, and MTU will be set at 1500.
  • Management Port will be reset to 5000/5001.
  • PPPoE will be reset to default.
  • IP auto-block will be disabled. The blocked IP addresses will not be erased.
  • Link Aggregation will be disabled.
  • Firewall rules will be disabled. The rules will not be erased.

Reset your password

Locate the reset button and using a paper clip, press and hold for 4 seconds until you hear a BEEP.

reset button

 

NOTE: If you press and hold continuously, the operating system will be restored!

Launch the Synology Assistantย and double-click your synology to login.

By default the synology has:

username: Admin

Password: blank (that is, no password)

and once you have logged in you can change your admin password again.

 

Quickconnect uses the same password as your admin account. So, if you forqet your Quickconnect password/admin password, you can reset your synology to get a new one.

Dont forget to enable the other services like IP autoblock when you do this.

 

10 thoughts on “Reset your Admin password in your Synology

  1. Hello,

    In Control Panel/Netword, I have actived my https connection (port 5001) and asked to redirect automaticaly HTTP connection (port 5000) to HTTPS.

    Problem now: when I try to access DSM with port 5000 system switch to 5001 but tell me that “Page web is inacessible” ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED

    Can I go back and tell to not redirect to 5001?

    Like

  2. I have to disagree with the fellows on the other forum who kept complaining about Synology. I recently retired from the US Navy as a VADM and have more Synology units than I can really make excuses for. The fellow anxiously awaiting his QNAP will be in for a surprise when he sees what software is missing that he may be used to. I had my new RS815 and RX415 set to Auto Update as I travel a great deal. I couldn’t figure out why my user account was disabled until I read that the new update had disabled all user accounts with no password. I won’t do that again certainly, but I supposed that will not be an issue as one probably cannot set up an admin account without a password. In reading all of the responses, and wading through all the useless chatter about other makes of NAS, I still didn’t see a solution, other than perhaps resetting the unit, short version, and then going through the steps to restore the settings. It seems that the data will still be there when I finish. The new profile more than makes up for this inconvenience over the RS 814. This is my first post and I have no idea how often folks enter data but will check.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s